What is the NMC CBT?

What is the NMC CBT?

- By Federico (6 articles)

If you are an overseas nurse trying to start your career in the UK, after your IELTS or OET exam you will have to take your CBT (Computer Based Test) test. The CBT consists of 120 multiple-choice questions that include general nursing and domain-specific (Adult Nursing, Mental Health Nursing, Children’s Nursing and Midwifery) questions, with a specific test for each type of nursing. All questions are scored as correct or incorrect and there is no partial credit. The test can be taken in a Pearson VUE test centre available in most countries around the world; it will be taken under formal standardised examination conditions, and all candidates are required to adhere to the candidate and test centre rules in the test centre. It is split into two parts:

·       The first part (30 minutes) covers numeracy;

·     The second part (2 hours and 30 minutes) covers clinical questions for nursing or midwifery.

You will have to pass the CBT test before you can attempt the OSCE one, as long as you will pass both of them. You are allowed to take a maximum of three CBT attempts as part of your application; however, you will need to wait at least 10 days between each sitting. In the event you do not pass your CBT on your third attempt, your application will close and you will need to start a completely new application if you wish to register with the NMC.

You must pass both parts of the legacy exam within two years of each other. If your legacy CBT expires and you have not passed the legacy OSCE before this time, then you will need to take the new Test of Competence (CBT and OSCE).

We provide both face to face and online courses: the face to face will be a 4-day course at our Training Centre in Paddington, whereas the online one will be delivered following the same high standards in either 5 or 10 sessions.

Get started with your CBT today... Call 02036376722!